Tags

,

Give the world the best you can and the best will come back to you.

The other day, Alhumdulillah, I came across something terrific I’d actually come across before. It had registered into the “That’s beautiful!” closet in my brain the first time and did so again; in a whole new garb; doing things with ihsaan. The best that you can do in whatever you do. Giving every task you perform a novel spirit, enthusiasm and all that your ability can command. Thinking about emulating that in my daily life brings such a happy busy bee picture in my head.  Actually imbuing ihsaan, especially since one is in the middle of such stretching long holidays,  shows me that I ‘ll have to fight off that nefarious juggernaut force which has been thrusting me into ‘couch potato-ness’. And quoting Bugs Bunny I address that tiresome tendency, ” Of course you know, this means war”. =) May Allah grant us all the ability to live up to our responsibilities with ihsaan and may He grant us the wisdom and the intention to dedicate our actions to please Him. Aameen.

Hopping on to a random thought, don’t you just love mornings? I totally do!  Especially these summer ones with all that beautiful sunshine and oh-so-blue skies. SubhanAllah!  Another rather cool thing I’ve seen on a couple of blogs now are “Things to do this Summer” lists. Now here’s something you should know about me, I absolutely love making lists. Especially check lists. So here’s a tiny one:

* Finish ‘that’ book. (Yes, I’m weird! =) But it get’s better, don’t worry)

* Coerce family for a trip to the Corniche

* Make  milkshakes

* Drink made milkshakes

* Learn those beautiful supplications.

* Do more dhikr

On the authority of Abu Harayrah (may Allah be pleased with him), who said that the Prophet (PBUH) said: Allah the Almighty said:

I am as My servant thinks I am (1). I am with him when he makes mention of Me. If he makes mention of Me to himself, I make mention of him to Myself; and if he makes mention of Me in an assembly, I make mention of him in an assemble better than it. And if he draws near to Me an arm’s length, I draw near to him a fathom’s length. And if he comes to Me walking, I go to him at speed.

(1) Another possible rendering of the Arabic is: “I am as My servant expects Me to be”. The meaning is that forgiveness and acceptance of repentance by the Almighty is subject to His servant truly believing that He is forgiving and merciful. However, not to accompany such belief with right action would be to mock the Almighty

* Make chocolate chip cookies and eat them with chocolate milkshake.

* Abstain from chocolate for a while after that fiasco

* Write a nice long letter to sister-of-far-away

* Start a brand new terrific hobby (It should totally blow me away, me!)

Okay, I agree I haven’t got a very adrenaline pumping list…should work on it. =)

Now I need to get buzzing (remember happy busy bee, up top?)! So after that decidedly weak pun, I’m off!

InshaAllah have a wonderful day! =)

P.S. Hmm…this post sounds contrary…

